Thursday, January 31, 2008

"A Little R&R" Part 2, My Answers…

Here's what Reuben published on his blog last week while I posted his answers to my blog (Part 1). Actually, I had to clean this up for his blog (his Mom reads his blog) but Janis and I are all about the yo momma jokes so I'm keeping them in for my blog...enjoy! First question is boring but it gets better.

1. What friendship did you not maintain that you wish you would have?
One of my closest friends in high school never spoke to me again after he felt betrayed or left out of our circle with another close friend. He just got mad one day, walked out of my house, and never came back. It was weird because we thought he was angry, would get over it and we would see him again the next day – but apparently he was really very angry and hurt and I just didn’t get it at the time. He was ALWAYS at my house so I was surprised when he just stopped coming over. I still wonder what he’s up to sometimes – he’s connected to my family in the Valley (TX, not LV) so I still hear about him when they see him and tell me they ran into him. I say nothing but oh wow, that’s great, etc. I wish we would have stayed friends – he was a good friend.

2. Have you ever had "friend sex"? Could you maintain the friendship afterwards?
Does your momma count as a friend? Then yes and yes, maintained once on Saturdays and twice on Thursdays… Seriously now -- Ugh, gross. That’s like incest. Hey Reuben, you’re my friend... wanna do it? See what I mean?

3. Did you ever have someone that really liked you as a friend that you just didn't care for? How did you handle it?
I had a friend once that I finally let go. I tried real hard to be a good friend and was for a long time, but she got mad b/c I don’t call my friends back. We no longer speak. By the way, I’m a horrible friend – just ask my friends.

4. You're on a 3 week vacation. Each week you have to take a different friend & go to a different place. Who do you take? Where do you go? What do you do while you’re there?
Only one person per week? Ok… First, Rosie and I will go to Mexico and do each other. Then, Janis and I will go to Texas and do your Momma. Third week, Priscilla and I will go to Australia because we’ve always wanted to go sightseeing there and never made it. I also want to go somewhere with Jerusha again but I don’t have any idea where – we could go to Yuma, AZ and have the best time doing NOTHING!! We did that! It was the BEST! YU-MA!! YU-MA!!

5. You and your dog(s) (man's best friend) find an injured cat on the side of the road. What happens next?
Kyla, my dog, eats the pussy (wo ---- she’s gay and you’re dirty? - I meant pussycat you naughty you). Then I say good girl, pat her head, and give her a treat. According to Kyla, cats suck. It’s on her MySpace profile at http://www.myspace.com/kylagarcia

6. What’s the most embarrassing thing you’ve ever done because a friend told you to do it?
I got out of the car, walked out into a field to pick up an abandoned shoe and the car with my friends in it drove off without me… why did I do it? Because Mari told me to! Wow, they had such a good time laughing with me… except I was walking alone – not with them, and I wasn’t laughing. It’s still WITH, right?

7. Have you ever broken the law to help a friend, or helped them break the law/cover it up? Provide details without soliciting a conviction.
Except for that dead hooker in Waco that David asked me to hide in our apartment, no, not really. God, she stunk! Oh wait, I guess I did try to cover it up – does Febreze count as a cover up?

8. If you had to sleep with one of your friends in order to save the world, who would it be and why?
Your momma, since we already “save the world” every Saturday and twice on Thursdays. Seriously, I’d say Rambo because she’s beautiful but she’s married, so I’ll be good and say Janis. Because she’s such a cutie. Besides, Rambo might beat me up. Don’t know who Rambo is? Tough! My apologies to Janis should the world ever need us. (Rambo, am I the only one who still calls you Rambo?).

9. What’s the one thing you said to a friend that you regret and wish you could take back?
The first one that comes to mind is shameful so I won’t say it. The second one that comes to mind is when I told your Momma she has to pay me more when we "save the world" – she got a little snippy over it.

10. What’s the one thing you never said to a friend that you want/wanted to say?
I always wanted to tell Eleazar that I’m sorry if I ever hurt his feelings.


"A Little R&R" is a Blogshare Series between Reuben & Robert (R&R). We each contribute 5 questions to total 10, then cross-post our answers in two parts / reverse order. Meaning, I post his replies while he posts mine. 2nd post is we each post our own replies to our own blogs. Last week I posted Part 1 (Reuben’s answers) and this week is Part 2 (my answers above).

Saturday, January 26, 2008

San Francisco, Day One

Well it's 1am and I made it my hotel room safe and sound. It's raining in San Francisco and my flight was delayed leaving Las Vegas. But as soon as I met up with Priscilla, it was all good. Day One was spent at Tia Margarita's doing... you guessed it... drinking margaritas made from fresh limes. If you've never been to Tia Margarita's in the city, it's AWESOME! (It's on Clemente). I am missing the Bay Area and am happy to be back here. The people are so nice and tolerant (non judgemental), you just feel so comfortable no matter how silly you are here. We met Morgan and Brett at Tia Margarita's, total strangers, but we overheard Morgan say she's been coming to this place for 20 years. Priscilla laughed and made fun of our stranger neighbors at the bar because she looked 21. :-) About 30 minutes later, our food came out (we were here to drink so didn't care that our appetizers took forever) and we shared with Morgan and her friend Brett because they commented on our chili con queso. I was drunk so I shoved the dish over and insisted that they have some. I was surprised when they actually had some! Now I'm like how rude you freaking strangers - I was just being nice, I didn't think you'd actually eat our food!! Just kidding... we talked with our new friends until they left and Priscilla stayed til after closing finishing our very strong (thanks, Francisco!) double margaritas and talked until the place cleared out and the staff was waiting to go home. Personally, I think 11pm is too early to close on a Friday night but apparently they're not just a bar and they're primarily a restaurant? Whatever... we sat at the bar and didn't notice any restaurant around but yeah I'm told they have one. My trip should suck considering it's supposed to rain everyday I'm here. But with Priscilla and day one behind me, I know it will be just what I needed. Looking forward to what tomorrow brings. Can't wait to see Jerusha tomorrow night and then Kehau on Sunday!!!!

Monday, January 21, 2008

A Little R & R, Part 1

::::THIS POST IS FROM MY GUEST BLOGGER REUBEN LEWIS AS PART 1 OF OUR NEW BLOGSHARE SERIES::::

I made a new friend this week! In our totally awesome friend making time we managed to come up with the idea of a blog mash up. I think it’s just because I’m lazy when it comes to blog writing and he felt sorry for me. Right now is a little bit of a get to know you time. For the next few weeks you’ll see Robert’s answers to some questions we came up with together and soon after you’ll see my response to those same questions. So sit back and relax because it time for “A little R&R”

1. What friendship did you not maintain that you wish you would have?
Malcolm. Although I had no choice in the matter. He stopped being my friend because I told him to stop embarrassing me in public. Most people are my friends just because the like embarrassing me in public. He thought I was just being haughty. Um…duh! You do know me right? I still feel bad though because he was smart and funny and cool and kind of a dick. All the things I like in a friend.

2. Have you ever had "friend sex"? Could you maintain the friendship afterwards?
Ummm… with who have I not had friend sex? My goal for 2007 was to make a friend that I hadn’t had sex with. I made some new friends. Only one hasn’t seen me naked.

3. Did you ever have someone that really liked you as a friend that you just didn't care for? How did you handle it?
Frankly I like very few of the people I hang out with. People in general make me want to hit them when they talk to me. Not to say I’m not friendly. I am. It just that when I’m being polite to someone I’m secretly thinking of jamming my fingers in my ears and screaming “la,la,la,la”. So in short I smile a lot and offer to take them out to dinner.

4. You're on a 3 week vacation. Each week you have to take a different friend & go to a different place. Who do you take? Where do you go? What do you do while you’re there?
Week 1: Who: Ab Where: Brazil What: THE FOLLOWING STAMENTS HAVE BEEN CENSORED BY THE FCC. THEY CLEARLY VIOLATE ALL STANDARDS OF DECENCY. ANY ATTEMPT TO DISCOVER THE TRUE NATURE OF THESE COMMENTS COULD RESULT IN A PRISON SENTENCE NO LESS THAN FIVE YEARS AND FINES NO LESS THAN $100,000.
Week 2: Who: Kris Where: Jamaica What: THESE SENTANCES HAVE BEEN REDACTED BY THE CIA. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT ATTEMPTING TO DISCOVER THE TRUE NATURE OF THESE STAMENTS COULD RESULT IN BIG SCARY GUYS COMING IN TO YOUR HOUSE, ROUGHING YOU UP, AND EATING ALL YOUR LUNCH MEAT.
Week 3: Who: Sloan Where: New York What: Shopping.

5. You and your dog(s) (man's best friend) find an injured cat on the side of the road. What happens next?
Bella hides behind my legs in fear and eventually will run around me until I am trapped in her leash. If Mullet had opposable thumbs he with poke it with a stick and drool but since he doesn’t he would just do that doggy head to the side thing and maybe pee on it.

6. What’s the most embarrassing thing you’ve ever done because a friend told you to do it?
I was usually the guy daring my friends to do stupid things. But that only because some told me to pull my shorts up super high and go down one of those 5 story water slides. The shorts were never seen again.

7. Have you ever broken the law to help a friend, or helped them break the law/cover it up? Provide details without soliciting a conviction.
I’m going with a no one that one. Just so you know if this is your way of asking me to be a part of you international drug cartel I’m out. I’m out and I’m telling

8. If you had to sleep with one of your friends in order to save the world, who would it be and why?
I’ve already slept with all of my friends so whoever happens to be the closest.

9. What’s the one thing you said to a friend that you regret and wish you could take back?
In high school because I was a stupid boy I pointed out to a friend that she was probably fat because she was Asian and they weren’t metabolically evolved to eat American food. I’m not sure if I could come up with a sentence that has more offensive statements in it than that one. I still feel bad about it and I don’t feel bad about anything. I’m going to write a letter to Mo’nique and Pat Morita asking for forgiveness.

10. What’s the one thing you never said to a friend that you want/wanted to say?
Please return my porn.


"A Little R&R" is a Blogshare Series between Reuben & Robert (R&R). We each contribute 5 questions to total 10, then cross-post our answers in two parts / reverse order. Meaning, I post his replies while he posts mine. 2nd post is we each post our own replies to our own blogs. Reuben is a friend from work and I apologize in advance for unleashing him on you. Just kidding - as you can see, the guy is a riot. To learn more about Reuben, check him out on my Friends List on my MySpace Profile (he's last on my list). Again -- just kidding, Reuben!

Saturday, January 19, 2008

See Legend, Cloverfield Hype More Than Quality

Well, I bought into all the hype about the movie with no name (or a bad name), Cloverfield. It's Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla. Great idea, really, and thus I do actually recommend you see it. It's basically a monster (not Godzilla) attacking NYC and a group of friends runs their camcorder, which makes up the film. It's a great concept and very exciting, but the acting was not impressive for me so I couldn't buy into it like I wanted. Still a good movie and worth seeing, maybe I expected too much - you know how that happens when you think it'll be GREAT and it's "just" good. All of a sudden, good isn't good enough. :-) This movie made me miss Blair Witch Project which WAS good, but felt 'great' because I didn't expect much from it. God that was a great movie... you see? I give it an 8 out of 10.

I Am Legend is worth seeing! Very interesting... I waited to see this one til Berto convinced me because I'm not a huge fan of Will Smith anymore, but I'm glad I saw it. You'll enjoy it. It's not an Oscar candidate, but it is a good movie with enough suspense to hold you and keep you interested. I give it a 9 out of 10.

Hillary Wins Nevada

Just a quick post to say Hooray for Hillary who won the Nevada Caucuses today. I know George and Reuben will read this and say this next part so here it is... yeah, she won the overall vote and thus won the state, but Obama picked up more delegates because of the areas he won. She got 12 and he got 13. Isn't America funny? Caucuses and electoral colleges that gives victories to the candidate with fewer votes. And we're supposed to be the model for democracy? Tsk, tsk! :-)

Friday, January 18, 2008

A Little R & R

Hey, heads up... I'll be introducing a new series on my blog called "A Little R&R", short for a little Reuben & Robert, or Robert & Reuben. As you may already know, I have 2.9 million readers on my blog (yeah right), and they all keep kindly telling me enough of Robert... let's hear from someone else. So that's the plan. Reuben and I will each answer the same 10 questions (we each contribute 5), and then cross-post to each other's blogs. Anyway, it seemed like a brilliant idea after 3 martinis last week and hey look, we're actually going through with it. The first installment is done and is coming up soon! Look for it in the next day or so...

Thursday, January 17, 2008

Playing With His Wii

Once again, I would like to blog about a couple of embarrassing moments that have been on my mind... for those of you who question why any fool would openly reveal their embarrassments, here's a snippet from my Xmas blog: "I'm a firm believer that by announcing embarrassing moments, one can let go of the associated shame. As is engraved on the UT Tower (and in the Bible of course), the truth shall set you free. So here are my embarrassments from ... and I'll blog it ... expose these issues below so ... [they] can have no power over me."

Now with that out of the way, I can properly recount these incidents....

1.) I got Berto a Nintendo Wii for Christmas last month and after we got home from our trip to Tucson, I played it for a little while (tennis). Of course, the Wii is all about motion simulation through sensor or something like that. Anyhoo... what Berto doesn't know yet is that one day while he was running around the house to let me play for a little, I hurt his remote. The Wii remote comes with a wrist thingamajig so you do the motion with your arm like you're playing tennis and it can stay strapped on to your wrist. I did use the strap ---- but then I got excited as I was "getting better" at the game and started to "hit" harder in my game. Of course I'm swatting the air like an idiot because there's no ball and racket, just the Wii remote in my hand.. or so it was for most of the game... until I accidentally tried my hardest swing and ended up THROWING THE REMOTE AT THE LCD TV, very HARD of course. I felt like an idiot and was so concerned about damaging the remote or my tv... I'm happy to report neither has evidence of my abuse. Anyway, after that, I stopped playing the Wii. It really is a safety hazard... I've come to learn that apparently this happens often and I'm not alone so it's easier to admit now that I didn't know how to use the darn thing properly. :-)

2.) When we were in Tucson on Christmas Day and Berto opened and played with the Wii, Mari called Cesar over on the phone and just the WAY she said it "Berto's playing with his Wii all alone - come play with him and his Wii." (Mari and I were cooking). Anyway, I WON'T repeat what Cesar said on the other end of the phone b/c his buttocks have threatened to sue me before :-), but you know he picked up on Mari's tone/joke. Anyway, for a while there, the Wii was a horrible word for me. It was so hard, pardon the pun, for me to use that word. Now.. do me a favor and go back and re-read the headline to this post ... dang! You're dirty-minded! Now I say playing THE Wii, not WITH the Wii or HIS Wii. Besides, this is Mari's dirty fault, not mine. She ruined the once innocent word Wii for me. Let's move on now, can we try to do that please?

Monday, January 14, 2008

First Sunday, but Skip the Devil


Saw two more movies this weekend. Reuben and I saw “Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead”. Great cast and acting (Ethan Hawke, Albert Finney, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Marissa Tomei), but the story is just not entertaining. This movie is HEAVY in one word. It’s depressing and uninspiring with no uplifting angle whatsoever. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a good movie in terms of art and production value. It’s just not something I can recommend in terms of entertainment. I say skip it – you might not blow your brains out. Unless of course you’re too happy and need to be brought down – then by all means, go see it – YOU need to see it! I give it a 7 out of 10.

“First Sunday” is a comedy so again, you have to like the silly comedy genre to enjoy this but I recommend it! Berto and I both liked it a lot. Kat Williams is hilarious in this movie. It stars Ice Cube, Tracy Morgan, Kat Williams and is slightly similar to the Madea type movies. So if you like those kind of movies, you’ll love this one, too. I did! I give it an 8.5 out of 10.

Above is a recap of my ratings for movies currently out - some I did not review (they don't warrant it), but I did rate them in the chart above since I saw em! :-)

Saturday, January 12, 2008

My Dog Is A Liar

Don't believe it. My dog (her name is Kyla) posted a not so nice comment about me on my myspace profile. She claims I am exploiting her but the truth is I did not put her on myspace! Look.. my dog can't talk, okay - she's a dog. But sometime while I was sleeping she learned how to type...

http://www.myspace.com/kylagarcia

Tuesday, January 8, 2008

Survey Your Year to Close Out 2007

Take this survey as a quick look back at your year in 2007. This was a myspace bulletin from my good friend Janis in Texas. I'm blogging my replies - now you do yours!!!

1) DRINKING BUDDIES OF THE YEAR?
My award goes to Tim! See you at BWW. Our waitress is so nice to us there. She always has Heini coming for me (the beer).

2) YOUR SONG FOR 2007
Hmmm... one song I absolutely hated was Bartender. The lyrics are gawful. "She made us drinks... to drink.... we drunk em." Why can't I get paid millions to come up with shit like that? I'll go with Buy U a Drink b/c it's Andres' favorite for the year.

3) LIFETIME SERVICE AWARD (longest friend)
Has to go to Mari and Rosie. Both are friends since high school and they are still there for me. Can I have a tie? Rosie I met freshman yr and Mari later, but Mari lives closer now and I see her more now.

4) NEWCOMER AWARD - COOLEST NEWEST FRIEND?
Tim, met him at HSI. He's the coolest new friend I made in 07. See #1.

5) HIGH POINT OF THE YEAR?
Getting my nephews back for a second year. They went home for summer but both came back in August to live with me for a second year.

6) LOW POINT OF THE YEAR?
Ahem... sending my nephew home early in November instead of in June 08. Right thing to do, but hardest thing to do. Still sad and feeling guilty over it, too. And I miss him sooo much.

7) BEST HOLIDAY?
Another tie... I know, I can't commit. Memorial Day: took nephews to Lake Mead and we had a blast there! I love going out with them and getting away on short trips with them!! AND... Xmas to Tucson to see Mari and Cesar - that was supercool, too!

8) MOVIE FOR 2007?
See, I hate these type b/c inevitably you only think of the most recent movies you've seen, so for me... The Great Debaters.

9) WHO DID YOU SPEND VALENTINES WITH?
What is Valentines?

10) BEST RELATIONSHIP?
My nephews.

11) WHAT WERE YOU FOR HALLOWEEN
Me.

12) RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR?
Hash House A Go Go (In Las Vegas on W. Sahara)

13) BIGGEST douchebag AWARD?
George W. Bush, 7 years running. This guy is good.

14) BEST DECISION MADE THIS YEAR?
See # 6

15) WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS FOR NEXT YEAR?
I want to travel more. I made a few trips in 07 (SoCal, Texas, Tucson, Utah), but I want to do see my old friends more - and I really need to go back to the Valley (Rio Grande - South Texas).

16) MOST STUPID IDEA WHEN DRUNK
Driving

17) TV SHOW OF THE YEAR?
Another tie, I know, I suck at choosing... America's Psychic Challenge and Lisa Williams - pls stop laughing :-)

18) MOST LOYAL FRIEND?
Rosie

19) BIGGEST CHANGE OF THE YEAR?
See #5 and #6. They're still the focus for me.

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

“Walk Hard” Is Funny, but Cover Your Eyes

Well, it started with “Borat” deciding to show a fat man’s junk, rub it in Borat’s face and then kept running reel for a lot longer than any shock value would require. It was hilarious, gross, shocking, and highly entertaining although most don’t like to admit that last part (especially guys).

Now, “Walk Hard” decides to follow suit with its own shot of the male genitalia. (I’m trying to talk about schlong without sounding crude here so excuse the fancy use of ‘male genitalia’). You go in expecting a silly comedy and are then surprised by the scene showing naked women. You’re okay with it, though, as far too many movies have showed women’s bared breasts that it’s no longer shocking to see on the big screen. But then this movie pushes it with a man’s butt shot. In the scene, Dewy Cox is seated on the floor leaning against his bed facing the camera. His friend stands in front of him, with his buttocks to the camera (the audience) and then walks away. You think it’s over – it was just a man’s butt, no big deal. A short moment later in the same scene, the same man reappears but this time standing next to Dewey, which means – you guessed it, his junk is now facing you. And it’s not one of those one second shock shots either. They know audiences, especially men, will look away at first sight, so they leave it on screen long enough to make sure you get a decent look, enough to inspire true shock which is so hard to get in Hollywood nowadays (pardon the hard pun, but it’s hard to blog about xick without those slipping in, you see what I mean – another one just came without effort, and there was another).

All in all, though, this is a very funny movie. MY favorite scene is the duet with Darlene where they sing lyrics that seem innocent and country, but are filled with sexual innuendo (like my last paragraph). A few examples:

In my dreams you are blowing me…. some kisses.
Let’s just do it (supposed to be duet).
Can you feel me creeping up behind you?... You can just come in my back door.

You get the picture. Now, I know this genre is not for everyone. So if you don’t like crude humor, stay away. You’ve been warned. But if you love humor of all kinds, you will enjoy!

I give it a 9 out of 10.

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

The Time to Travel is 2008

I used to travel about 2-3 times per year down to Texas (Waco, Austin, the Valley, and Houston). Lately, I've been only been to Houston when I visited Texas and other than that my trips have been elsewhere with my nephews. I'm not big on resolutions as a part of celebrating the new year (I usually break them by right around January 2nd), but I have decided to start travelling again in 2008 and visiting my friends and family.

I'll be going to San Francisco in late January, then Texas in February, and of course, the Houston gang will all be here in March for a week. In February, I will start in Dallas to visit my good friend Jerrie Turk! Then I will pick up Rosie in Waco and together we will visit my Aunt Carol and her gang in Austin as we make our way down to the Valley. I haven't been to the Valley in so long, I can't wait.