Once again, I would like to blog about a couple of embarrassing moments that have been on my mind... for those of you who question why any fool would openly reveal their embarrassments, here's a snippet from my Xmas blog: "I'm a firm believer that by announcing embarrassing moments, one can let go of the associated shame. As is engraved on the UT Tower (and in the Bible of course), the truth shall set you free. So here are my embarrassments from ... and I'll blog it ... expose these issues below so ... [they] can have no power over me."
Now with that out of the way, I can properly recount these incidents....
1.) I got Berto a Nintendo Wii for Christmas last month and after we got home from our trip to Tucson, I played it for a little while (tennis). Of course, the Wii is all about motion simulation through sensor or something like that. Anyhoo... what Berto doesn't know yet is that one day while he was running around the house to let me play for a little, I hurt his remote. The Wii remote comes with a wrist thingamajig so you do the motion with your arm like you're playing tennis and it can stay strapped on to your wrist. I did use the strap ---- but then I got excited as I was "getting better" at the game and started to "hit" harder in my game. Of course I'm swatting the air like an idiot because there's no ball and racket, just the Wii remote in my hand.. or so it was for most of the game... until I accidentally tried my hardest swing and ended up THROWING THE REMOTE AT THE LCD TV, very HARD of course. I felt like an idiot and was so concerned about damaging the remote or my tv... I'm happy to report neither has evidence of my abuse. Anyway, after that, I stopped playing the Wii. It really is a safety hazard... I've come to learn that apparently this happens often and I'm not alone so it's easier to admit now that I didn't know how to use the darn thing properly. :-)
2.) When we were in Tucson on Christmas Day and Berto opened and played with the Wii, Mari called Cesar over on the phone and just the WAY she said it "Berto's playing with his Wii all alone - come play with him and his Wii." (Mari and I were cooking). Anyway, I WON'T repeat what Cesar said on the other end of the phone b/c his buttocks have threatened to sue me before :-), but you know he picked up on Mari's tone/joke. Anyway, for a while there, the Wii was a horrible word for me. It was so hard, pardon the pun, for me to use that word. Now.. do me a favor and go back and re-read the headline to this post ... dang! You're dirty-minded! Now I say playing THE Wii, not WITH the Wii or HIS Wii. Besides, this is Mari's dirty fault, not mine. She ruined the once innocent word Wii for me. Let's move on now, can we try to do that please?
Thursday, January 17, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment