Monday, December 31, 2007

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Happy New Year to all I love!
Be safe, be brave, and you have my best wishes for a fun and exciting 2008!!!!

Sunday, December 30, 2007

Go See "The Great Debaters"

As many of you already know, I'm a Forensicator at heart (the Speech and Debate kind of Forensics, not the dead bodies variety). I was Captain of my High School's Speech & Debate Team (UIL District Champ in Prose my Sr. Year), and participated in college on the AFA Overall National Champions UT-Austin Forensics Team (made it to Semis at Nationals, Top 16, in two different events). I did a lot more (coached high schoolers at two different summer institutes), and yes I know it sounds pathetic to relive those glory days from high school and college - but anyone who did Forensics understands it never really leaves your system. You learn so much about the art and power of communication that it indirectly helps you in so many different life situations, both personally and professionally. I always find myself going back to AFA's website each year in April or May to review the National results. How did UT do (they finished 2nd in 2007), how did George Mason Univ do (Dr. Peter Pober who was my great coach at UT now coaches there) - I just can't help my curiosity. I used to judge for a long time after I competed but alas I finally let that go - the days are too long and you have to be a hardcore supporter to keep judging forever - it's certainly not for the low pay.

Enough about that, but thought it would help explain why I loved this movie. I just got back from seeing The Great Debaters and I'm calling it now. This movie will be nominated for an Oscar in 2008 for Best Picture. I think it will win but it's too early and I have to see what else comes out, so for now, I call a nomination only. Remember, I called that Texas would beat the favored ASU Sun Devils by at least 2 touchdowns and they did. So don't be so skeptical that I'm over-reacting to this movie because I'm biased. I am biased because I love Forensics. But this movie is not just about Debate. It's a really great drama about so much more that took place in our country in the early 1900s and there's a deep Texas tie in so most of network in Texas should like that, too.

Whether you care about Forensics or not, you will like this movie if you appreciate a good drama of Oscar caliber. I know, some find these boring and prefer the comedy and action genres only. But give this move a chance - it will surprise you as it did me - I went in thinking I would only like it because I like Forensics. I was surprised to find it was just a great movie in general. Now, I list all the Forensics stuff up front because if anyone out there knows what I'm talking about, then you will have a very different experience in enjoying this movie. I know I did!

The movie is directed by and stars Denzel Washington. It's produced by Oprah Winfrey. All around great acting, excellent script, and a great drama. Yes, I cried. I can admit it. I cry in movies. Andres always made fun of me for this, but I think it's part of enjoying a great drama - letting it pull you in and take you into its world of emotion and passions. I don't have to cry - I can keep from crying in movies very easily, but I find I love movies so much more because I can suspend my disbelief and let it engulf me. Now go see this movie!!!

I give it a 9 out of 10.

Thursday, December 27, 2007

Chris Jessie Becomes Famous (Texas Blasts ASU 52-34)


Mack Brown's stepson, Chris Jessie, is now famous. Oh yeah... and my Texas Longhorns demolished the ASU Sun Devils today, 52-34!!!!! I'm wearing my Texas Longhorns t-shirt tomorrow as it's casual Friday and what a sweet day it will be - for me, I mean, especially since everyone knew ASU was favored and thought I was crazy when I predicted Texas would win by at least 2 touchdowns. Ahhh, how sweet it is....

Anyway, back to the story of the night. Texas forced a turnover while leading 21-0 and stops ASU from scoring in the end zone. BUT - Chris Jessie - a nobody before tonight's instant classic game - decides to touch the loose ball and draws an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. ASU gets the ball back and takes it in for 6, then makes it 21-7. ASU immediately got the momentum back and the cameras would not come off Chris Jessie, who it turns out is Coach Mack Brown's stepson and a member of the team's staff. Anyway, had Texas lost, Chris would be a marked man and would have to enter the witness protection program and leave the state of Texas forever -for his own safety. But thank God Colt McCoy, Jamaal Charles, and our incredible Defense (they're back!) overcame the momentum shift and won big time - that score again? Ahem... it was 52-34. Now with the victory, Chris Jessie will surely be famous and a laugh rather than a dead man walking.

Oh yeah, THE LONGHORNS JUST WON THE 2007 HOLIDAY BOWL 52-34. They now become the team with the longest active streak of 10+ wins in back to back seasons (this is their 7th straight season with 10+ wins each season!!!).



CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEXAS LONGHORNS

2007 BOWL CHAMPIONS AT THE PACIFIC LIFE HOLIDAY BOWL IN SAN DIEGO, CA

7 STRAIGHT 10+ WIN SEASONS (LONGEST ACTIVE STREAK IN THE NCAA)


To see the video of Chris Jessie getting into the game for his dad, follow this link. By the way, Chris said he did NOT touch the ball, and videos all shows no contact changed the trajectory of the ball so sounds like he's telling the truth.

Tuesday, December 25, 2007

Christmas Pics are up!

Thanks to all in Texas who sent gifts to Berto - it was another awesome Christmas! Pictures are posted from our Christmas trip to Tucson in my Picassa Web Alums. In addition to the photo albums online, I'm also uploading some video on my Orkut page but you need a Google / Orkut account to see those.

Leaving Las Vegas

This year for Christmas, we left the Vegas lights for a road trip to Tucson. It was a blast! I fell down Mt. Lemmon, got thrown out of a cave, and ruined a perfectly innocent apple pie.

We drove and of course road trips are cool in their own right. In Tucson, we visited some of the parks outside of town. First, we went to Colossal Cave. It's guided tours only but we busted in and explored on our own all over places no one is allowed. It was cool - Berto was the brave one who climbed and explored while Mari and I took pics and dared him. It didn't last too long, though before we were kindly escorted out. We ran into a tour group on the path who was so shocked we went in without a paid guide, which is not allowed. Oh well, we kinda knew but didn't care. It was Christmas and they need better signs to keep Mexicans out. She made us follow her group out which we did. Funniest thing is A.) Berto had just landed back on the trail from going climbing up the caves where you're nowhere near allowed. It was right after he returned to the trail that we got caught and I am grateful we didn't get busted when he was missing - we would have probably had to keep hiding in there until the tour passed. That would've sucked lots. B.) On our way out, the second group coming in had to lean against the cave to let our group out. As our group tailed out, they commented "well that's a large group". Their guide went on to complain as our guide had already informed him about us "Well that's because they found 4 people roaming around in there on their own who weren't supposed to be in here". We laughed but were looked at with shame by our group who knew we had just free loaded. It was so much more fun without a guide!

Later we left the park and drove to Mt. Lemmon, which is very similar to Mt. Charleston near Vegas. (You can live in the desert but a short drive up a mountain and you're in beautiful, green land with snow in the winter and tall trees year round). We had a blast playing in the snow. Berto abused Wanda, my car, with a snowball. I fell down the hill after landing on my ass and sliding down in embarrassment. But it was beautiful driving up and back down. The sunset over Tucson is amazing from up there.

Thanks to Mari and Cesar for inviting us down for Christmas. We had a blast!!!

The Terrible Tucson Trip (no, not really)


Okay, it wasn't terrible, but I'm a firm believer that by announcing embarrassing moments, one can let go of the associated shame. As is engraved on the UT Tower (and in the Bible of course), the truth shall set you free. So here's my embarrassments from our Christmas trip to Tucson -- which was a fun trip and I'll blog it after I expose these issues below so Mari and Cesar (and Berto, too) can have no power over me.

First, we went to Mt. Lemmon to play in the snow, which was I think the highlight of our trip. We climbed a hill and on the way down, I landed hard on my butt and slid down to the very bottom on my ass. Mari, Cesar, and Berto of course laughed at me, which I don't mind. But what really made it embarrassing was the strangers down the trail (who were smart enough to stay on the trail) pointing and laughing at me out loud. I don't care if family and friends laugh at me - they're allowed, but strangers - well that's just not right. At least I was smart enough to turn off my camera right before I tried to head back down.

Second, I decided to cook. I like to cook but never do it anymore. I decided to make a casserole and two pies. Well, the casserole was okay but not spectacular, and the pecan pie didn't harden enough because the recipe I used called for too much corn syrup. And my apple pie recipe was a total failure. I'll find a better recipe. The pecan pie tasted awesome and at least next time I know to use less syrup. Truth is the pecan pie looked beautiful (see pic above) and tasted great. Thank God I had the sense to buy a pumpkin pie and cool whip in advance as plan b.

Friday, December 21, 2007

Memory of Vacation

Just want to let folks know I pulished MORE pics online at my Picassa albums. Some are from last year and some from earlier this year. Wow. It was really something going through those pics. Makes me kind of sad because I miss my nephew Andres very much. The little punk doesn't call or think of me but here I am all depressed thinking of him daily. Then I see these pics and it just hurts. Anyway, I love and miss him, always will. He'll never know what he means to me. I guess that's the way it is with some kids. So different from his brother - I can tell he thinks of me and cares. He is so considerate. But I know Andres is a good person. I see how loving and caring he is with his parents and it makes me so proud, even if he couldn't find it in his heart to embrace me. :-) Andres, if you're reading this - you suck. JK. LOVE YOU! CHINGOS!!! I hope you remember our vacation - it was the best.

Anyway, check out the pics. Again, they're mostly of my boys Andres and Alberto (Berto), but they brought back some great memories I wanted to share, especially the vacation photos.

MERRY CHRISTMAS ALL!!!

Merry Christmas everyone! Please be safe this weekend and cherish all your family and friends! I send out a *big hug* to all!

Texans

Of course I forgot my good friend Jerrie when I remembered my friends still living in Texas. But in my defense, I met her in Vegas and she moved to Salt Lake. She cheated and moved back home to Texas and anyway, it was nice to hear from her again yesterday.

Jerrie, so glad to hear things are going so well, both professionally and personally. *wink* LOVE YA!

I have lots of family in Texas so maybe next yr I can make a trip through Arlington, Waco, and Austin to see you guys again. I used to visit Texas a lot when my Mom was alive but now I only make it to Houston now and then for my boys (nephews Andres and Alberto).

Thursday, December 20, 2007

Quick Shout Out to My Texas Homies...

Just want to say hi out loud to my friends back in Texas, Dave and Rosie! Stay in touch you guys.

Dave, have a blast on your upcoming travels and good luck to the Mavs.

Rosie, email me cabrona!

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Hook 'Em Horns!

# 17 Texas (9-3) vs. # 11 ASU (11-2)

Just a heads up - mark your calendars for next week on Thursday, December 27th.... That's when my Texas Longhorns will beat Arizona State in the Holiday Bowl in San Diego. You can watch it on ESPN at 5pm PT / 7pm CT.

Can't Wait For Christmas!

This weekend can't come fast enough! Berto and I are taking a road trip to Tucson to see Mari and Cesar. Mari, get ready - we're going to cook like real grown ups. :-) All, wish us luck.

I just want Berto to open his presents so I can take some pics and video clips.

I published pics online - check em out!


I published new photos to my Picassa albums. Check em out at http://picasaweb.google.com/vegasrobert ! This is a pic of Berto looking so cool. Just a small morsel of the goodies inside. :-)
Posted by Picasa

Tuesday, December 18, 2007

I learned how to get my coffee today...

Just a funny and embarassing moment at work this morning.

Here's what happened. In our Break Room, we have several coffee pots with push pumps on top to serve the coffee. I have a large mug so I always pumped the coffee several times for several squirts in order to fill my cup. Seems logical, right? Apparently a very idiotic assumption on my part... I wish I had a pic of the coffee pot to show you...

Anyway, a woman who works in the office goes to the pot next to me to serve her coffee and looks at me funny as I'm "pumping" my coffee in multiple squirts. She pumps once - and HOLDS the pump down - for one continuous squirt until her cup is full!!! Ahh the humiliation. I knew she noticed so I laughed it off and blamed my stupidity on my lack of coffee for the morning. But I was embarrassed to do it correctly because now I felt I was copying her. I felt like a monkey learning by observing. So sad.

It gets worse... I was so embarrased this morning that I didn't really pay attention to the woman and avoided looking at her face. Later at lunch, I have a business lunch with a team from another department and surprise - she's a part of our lunch party! Wonderful. I had to own up to it over lunch to bring it out in the open. Ahh, the smallest things.

Just getting started...

Hey all, just getting this blog started. Like most projects I'm sure I'll tire of it fairly quickly and let it disintegrate... But for now at least, I plan to post some simple updates to keep folks updated on what's happening with us in Vegas.